April 3, 2007

Jennifer Tanner
Communications Specialist

Charles Harmon Director of University Relations

VSU's Top Business Students Join International Honor Society

VALDOSTA - The Harley Langdale Jr. College of Business Administration at Valdosta State University has announced that 24 students and three faculty members have earned membership into Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society.

Only the best business students in the world, and the professionals who earned the distinction of “The Best in Business” during their academic careers, can claim membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. This year’s Beta Gamma Sigma inductees from Valdosta State University’s Harley Langdale, Jr. College of Business Administration have certainly earned that title.

While almost 300,000 students receive bachelors or master’s degrees in business each year, only about 20,000 are inducted into lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top 7 percent of the junior class, top 10 percent of the senior class, and top 20 percent of master’s programs at schools accredited by AACSB International, The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business are eligible for this invitation.

Beta Gamma Sigma membership has become a truly international honor. With the expansion of accreditation by AACSB International, membership is no longer limited to those who have studied in the U.S. or Canada. These outstanding VSU students are now eligible for the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or master’s program at a school accredited by AACSB International.

The following students will be inducted into the Valdosta State University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at the Langdale College Honors Banquet to be held Friday, April 13, 2007:

Felton Baker, Waycross; Larry Battles, Warner Robins; Kyle Baxter, Valdosta; Nichole Bozeman, Sylvester; Michael Dent, Valdosta; James Gill, Valdosta; Elizabeth Graves, Milan; Leah Hampton, Valdosta; Thomas Hewitt, Valdosta; Misty Hitchcock, Valdosta; Daniel Housley, Valdosta; Stacy Johnson, Savannah; Beverly Luke, Valdosta; Dean McKinney, Valdosta; Octavia Meyers, Valdosta; Alexandra Parrish, Valdosta; Cynthia Phillips, Moultrie; Michael Santas, Valdosta; Geoffrey Schmidt, Valdosta; Robert Smith, Duluth; Bethany Tanner, Sycamore; Lindsie Touchton, Hahira; Donara Uzunyan, Syktyvkar, Russia and Jason Webster, Darien.

In addition to these 24 students, three outstanding Valdosta State University faculty members will also be inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma:

Dr. Donna Cunningham, Assistant Professor of Management; Dr. Zulal Denaux, Associate Professor of Marketing and Economics and Dr. Timothy Reisenwitz, Assistant Professor of Marketing and Economics

Beta Gamma Sigma was founded as a national organization on February 19, 1913. The first national honor society in business was a merger of three separate societies established to honor academic achievement in business at the University of Wisconsin, University of Illinois and the University of California.

With chapters in the United States, Canada, Hong Kong and the United Kingdom, Beta Gamma Sigma today is truly an international society that remains dedicated to recognizing the most outstanding students of business and management. The Society serves business schools accredited by AACSB International in the 21st century knowing that its membership of more than 500,000 comprises the brightest and best of the world’s business leaders.

Quote from Stephen W. Gilman, one of three professors who founded Beta Gamma Sigma at the University of Wisconsin:

“Success is not to be measured by income but by influence, not by power but by personality, not by capital but by character.”

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698