May 1, 2007

Jennifer Tanner
Communications Specialist

Charles Harmon Director of University Relations

Richard Royal Receives Loyce W. Turner Award for Public Service

VALDOSTA - The Public Administration Advisory Committee (PAAC) at Valdosta State University announced Richard Royal, R HD 171, as the 2007 winner of the Loyce W. Turner Award for Public Service at a luncheon held Tuesday, May 1, in the University Center’s Executive Dining Room.

A role model for public sector professionals, the PAAC believed Royal exemplifies the Jeffersonian ideal of an ethical, committed and effective public official, much like Loyce W. Turner did. Nolan J. Argyle, Coordinator of the Master of Public Administration program at VSU, said Royal was chosen because his “record of dedicated and distinguished public service provides inspiration for all who work in the public and non-governmental sectors.”

A graduate of Mitchell County High School and The Georgia Institute of Technology, Royal has extensive experience in public service at both local and state levels. Elected to the House of Representatives in 1983, Royal represents Mitchell and Colquitt counties. He serves on the Budget and Fiscal Oversight Committee as chairman, Appropriations Committee, National Resources Committee and Ways & Means Committee, where he also serves as chairman of the Property Tax Sub-committee. He was also appointed to the Tobacco Advisory Committee by the speaker of the house and to the Fiscal Affairs Committee by the governor.

Royal has sponsored major legislation that has improved Georgia’s government, particularly in the area of tax legislation. His service on these various committees has been critical for the state, according to the PAAC. He has received multiple awards and honors for leadership from the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia and The Georgia Municipal Association. He was the first recipient of the Presidential Citation from Georgia Tech.

Dr. Robert Aldinger was also honored at the luncheon for his many years of service in the Master of Public Administration program and Katherine Pelletier was named a 2007 Distinguished Graduate. Though not present, Jason Naess and Levy Odera were named Distinguished Graduates as well.

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698