May 1, 2008

Jennifer Tanner
Communications Specialist

VSU Honors Student Leaders

VALDOSTA - The Office of Student Affairs at Valdosta State University awarded outstanding student leaders at the 5th Annual Student Leadership Awards banquet held early in April at the University Center’s Magnolia Room.

The event highlighted the best and brightest in the areas of journalism, information technology, student organizations and general student leadership. The existing and experienced leaders from VSU’s LeaderQuest program, who organized the spring leadership conference, were also recognized. Facilitated by the Dean of Students office, this program aims to develop strong leadership skills in selected students throughout the college experience through special courses, events and retreats.

LeaderQuest members awarded with certificates include Gala Jackson, Jessica Waldrop, Tiffany Cochran, Brandie Allen, Jenni Harris, Joe Ervin III, Tanisha Jackson, Alondra Anderson, Anthony Swygert, Alecia Beck, Monique Byrd, Nikita Dziegielewski, Tara Eady, Kim Paratore, Lauren Bihl, Martiez Moore, Juanita Pierre, Kay Hearn, Serita Patrick, Johnnie Marshall, Bethany Brett and Krissy Cassarino.

Journalism awards went to students who have shown skillful leadership over the VSU student newspaper, The Spectator, including Travis Meeks, Taylor Seay and Carolanne Hines. Information Technology awards went to Justin Lewis, Brandy Bolduc, Nicole Fawcett and Garrett Moore. The Spectator winners took home certificates, as did those recognized in IT, who also received a cash prize.

Karen Warren, a student in the Master of Social Work program, received the Graduate Student Leader Award. President of the Alpha Delta Mu National Social Work Honor Society, Warren leads by example. She has participate in countless volunteer opportunities and extensive community service as well as received many other distinguished honors for her hard work.

Also awarded were two undergraduates, LaKeasha Brown and Monique Byrd, who received the Blazer Leadership Awards, which are given to non-senior undergraduates who have demonstrated outstanding involvement and initiative as well as strong leadership potential. Corey Langston and JoAnn Pulliam received the VSU Alumni Association’s Male and Female Senior Student Leader of the Year awards, for their contribution to the university and for displaying strong character and leadership skills. All for honorees were presented with acrylic flame plaques.

The Student Organization of Library and Information Science was awarded for contribution to its members. A group composed of graduate students in the MLIS program, SOLIS was recognized for its contribution to the scholastic and leadership potential of its members, demonstrated by use of quality programming, officer training, cohesiveness and strong organizational development.

The Black Student League was recognized for its contribution to the community-at-large, demonstrated through volunteering time in community projects and showing a willingness to offer assistance to community members.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was honored twice at the banquet for its contribution to the VSU campus, demonstrated through a commitment to the university and the organization’s mission through campus-wide programming, recruitment of new members and service/support to the university’s needs. It also received the highest honor an organization can be awarded, The Outstanding Organization of the Year, which requires the group be nominated for all three student organization categories.

Delta Sigma Theta, the Black Student League and SOLIS each received a certificate, an outdoor canopy tent for events and its name on a perpetual plaque displayed in the University Center.

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698