June 13, 2008

Jennifer Tanner
Communications Specialist

AAUW Hosts Political Forum

VALDOSTA - TThe American Association of University Women will host a political forum for primary elections from 7-8:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 24, in the Pound Hall Auditorium on Valdosta State University’s north campus.

Myrna Ballard of the Valdosta-Lowndes County Chamber of Commerce, Jill Pope of the Home Builders Association of South Georgia, Julie Greenhaw of the Lowndes County Republican Party, and Dennis Marks of the Lowndes County Democratic Party have also been involved in planning the forums.

Dr. Jim Peterson, department head for political science at VSU, will moderate the forum, which will offer each candidate an opportunity to make an introductory statement, before participating in a question and answer session. Candidates will present in three groups those running for sheriff, tax assessor and district one county commissioner, with each allotted half an hour. Questions will come from the audience present and VSU’s political science department. At the end of each group’s half-hour, every candidate will be given one minute for any closing remarks.

A larger forum for the general elections will be held in October at the Rainwater Convention Center, featuring candidates from all races.

Dr. Jo Ann Hartman, educator, former political figure and AAUW member, initiated the original public forums for local elections. They are all dedicated in memory of Virginia Branan, who worked tirelessly with Dr. Hartman and within AAUW to make these events successful, and a valued part of AAUW’s service to the South Georgia region.

Those running for office who will be featured in this June primary election forum are:

Hart, Roy - Dem
Prine, Chris - Dem
Taylor, Freddie M. - Rep
Yeager, J. D. - Dem

Tax Assessor:
DeMersseman, David - Post 1 - Rep
Johnson, John E. Sr. - Post 1 - Rep
Wetherington, Earl Jr. - Post 1 - Dem
Davis, Steve - Post 2 - Rep
Dear, Allan - Post 2 - Dem
Kelly, Doyle - Post 2 - Dem
Hill, Mike - Post 3 - Dem
Miller, Ronald M - Post 3 - Rep
Walker, W. G. - Post 3 - Dem

Commission District 1:
Evans, Joyce - Dem
Roberts, Edgar - Dem
Sharper, Dexter L. - Dem
Warren, James III - Rep

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698